TANGENT CAFE

by victoriatatiana

2095 Commercial Dr, Vancouver, BC

Tangent Cafe is the new restaurant at Commercial and 5th ave. Over the last 5 years there have been three different restaurants at this location. Commercial Drivers will remember Me and Julios, the fun Mexican restaurant with the cheap drink specials. They lasted 4 years. Next came Sorry Babushka, whose name had me expecting tasty Eastern European treats, but instead offered a weird 90′s club vibe and shitty drinks.
I had low expectations when I first checked out Tangent and was pleasantly surprised! The decor is fresh and new, the menu is creative and the prices are reasonable.

White Bark Ale Mussels

The menu is a mix of Western food, (burgers, salads, wings… ) and Eastern, which in this case means Malaysian. Kind of a strange combo, but it works. I went for the mussels with Yam fries. They gave me a LOT of mussels and they were tasty and fresh.

Yammies

Beef Rendang

From the East we tried the Beef Rendang. It was tasty and came with some spicy beans and buttery roti.

I give Tangent Cafe a NOM NOM. I can’t wait to try some of their other menu items. And I am happy to have a decent restaurant back at that location.
Tangent Cafe on Urbanspoon