TACOFINO COMMISSARY

by victoriatatiana

2327 E Hastings St, Vancouver, BC

Here’s the thing, I love Tacos. And Pizza. I looooooovvve Tacos and Pizza.  And, if you are an avid reader of canitrythat then you may know that my favorite Taco in Vancouver is from Tacofino Cantina. So it was a very exciting day for me when I finally set foot into Tacofino‘s latest…..The Commissary.

Beautiful decor in this place. The Commissary is a really great example of how you can make a small, simple space look amazing, without extensive renovations. The massive lighting/botanical installation is obviously the focal point here, allowing the cafeteria-style tables to stay simple and utilitarian.

There was a large group of us eating on this day, so we got to try almost everything on the menu!

Sweet, Smoky, Delicious…. Corn.

Buns with Bone Marrow Butter

Cauliflower
(serrano chiles, turmeric, crispy rice, spicy fish sauce)

Heart on a Stick
(grilled chicken hearts, jerk spices, watermelon pickles)

All of the appies we tried were delicious. I’ve noticed though that the menu has changed since I was there and the Corn and Bone Marrow dishes are no longer on the menu. Hopefully they bring them back for spring because they were tasty!

On to the tacos!!

Yam Tempura Tacos

Fish Tacos
(crispy ling cod, cabbage, chipotle mayo, salsa fresca)

Pork Cheek Taco
(cabbage, fried shallot, pineapple, sriracha)

We also tried a couple desserts… which were AH-MAZING.

Lime Curd Vaso: brown butter graham crumb, whipped cream
(And in the background… Ice Cream Sammy made with Diablo Cookies)

If you don’t know about Tacofino’s Diablo Cookies, then do yourself a favor and go get educated. To die for.

So, overall we loved Tacofino Commissary, but I did have one complaint. I was excited to try their margarita, because margs are my faves, and I was very disappointed. It was tiny. Taste-wise it was ok, but it was teeny-weeny, and it was expensive. Boo.

I can’t wait to go back to the Commissary to eat ALL THE TACOS…. again. ;) NOM NOM!

Tacofino Commissary on Urbanspoon

