POK POK NOI

by victoriatatiana

Pok Pok Noi, 1469 NE Prescott St, Portland, OR

I got to visit my favorite American neighbor this past weekend…. Portland!!!

One of the many, many things I love about Portland is THE FOOD!

I’d heard a lot of great things about Pok Pok, and it turned out one of their locations, Pok Pok Noi, was right around the corner from the house we were renting in the Alberta Arts district.

Papaya Pok Pok

Muu Paa Kham Waan (Boar Collar Meat)

Neua Naam Tok (Flank Steak Salad)

Loved the decor, loved the simple menu and the hide-away back patio. I did not love the food. The Papaya salad was soooo, so, so SPICY!!! I couldn’t handle it. You have to order rice on the side to be able to even attempt to eat it…. but it was too spicy for me to even enjoy. Some Friends I was with who’d been to Thailand said the food was authentic and they enjoyed it. I think I prefer the North-American style Thai food that favors more mild, sweet flavors like coconut as opposed to the spicy vinaigery flavors of Pok Pok.

Sorry Pok Pok, but it’s a NUH UH for me.

Pok Pok Noi on Urbanspoon

