FAMOSO

by victoriatatiana

Famoso Neopolitan Pizzeria: 1380 Commercial Drive, Vancouver, BC

Image

I finally tried Famoso last night, the latest in the Vancouver “authentic” thin-crust pizza fad.

I was a little skeptical as I’d been told it’s the “Earls” of pizza restaurants. Meaning: it’s a chain from Edmonton.

The restaurant itself is nice and offers a lovely patio…. but they are not yet licensed to serve alcohol on it. So obviously, we sat inside so we could enjoy a lovely gewurztraminer. We got the Blackberry Arugula Salad and the Margharita pizza. The salad was nice, arugula, blackberries, goat cheese and candied pecans.

Image

The pizza, on the other hand, was really nothing special. Very soggy with only the tiniest little pieces of basil to break up the sea of tomato sauce.

Image

Margharita Pizza

Overall, Famoso was nothing special. And considering it’s located in the delicious pizza capital of Vancouver, Commercial drive, it’s not where I’ll go for my “authentic” Neopolitan pizza. I give Famoso a NUH-UH!!

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria on Urbanspoon

